I’ve Sold a Short Story!

I must admit it was very fun to write the title for this blog post.

I have been writing for a pretty long time. I started back when I was eight, with a fantasy adventure about a young girl who (naturally) is orphaned and becomes friends with a fairy. I swear it is rather darker than it sounds.

Since then, I completed three novels, four novellas and novelettes, and over seventy short stories. In addition to these, I have countless unfinished pieces, including another nearly complete novel-length works. In short, I write a good deal.

I never paid much attention what I was going to do with that writing, mostly because I love the actual act of writing itself enough to be satisfied with it alone, if I must. But while I never wrote for an audience, I did enjoy having one at times – my friends, my teachers, and even people on Wattpad at one point. This past April, with the help of my friend, I ended up self-publishing my novella Sun and Shadow, a fantasy romance set in an analogue of Ancient Greece.

It was around this time that I seriously started considering seeking traditional publication for my writing. I began querying agents with a historical horror novel, but I also polished up some short stories and sending them in to various magazines as well.

There were a lot of submissions, and a lot of rejections. Also, I learned that it is very hard to judge what will sell, and what won’t. I shopped around three short stories and one piece of flash fiction, but the short story that was eventually picked up had been an afterthought, submitted to just two magazines. It was certainly not the piece I was most confident in!

What’s the story called? Where will it be published? I am afraid I must be a little mysterious about that for now, as I just signed the contract today and the story may not be out for a little while! The header picture does provide a hint about the setting. I’ll write closer to the publication date about where you can find it, and what you may uncover in its pages.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Sold a Short Story!

Leave a comment